It’s Dawn…or Not…

By: myoce

Mar 03 2010

Tags:

Category: Uncategorized

4 Comments

Aperture:f/5.2
Focal Length:18.6mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/238 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE M853 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

Bogor 03032010

Haven’t had time to write my piece yet…got to go…but will be back to talk some nonsense :P

Bogor 03052010

Me back ! [Ok.. I’m the only one excited about it…kekeke..]. Been wondering if  I’m only littering the internet with my senseless  chatter?….so if the traffic of this blog does not pick up [meaning the traffic from MOI :( ] then I’ll delete this blog.

Back to the topic on hand…DAWN…I took this pix very early in the morning otw to Jakarta to work, there’s a new toll entrance to  Jagorawi Toll Road from Bogor. New road, new scenery  to enjoy^^…and to capture !

Isn’t dawn a romantic word ?

As I read more on DAWN….I realize that the pix I took above possibly do not fit in the category of   ‘dawn’ .

Why? read on please …

According to Wikipedia :

Dawn is the time that marks the beginning of the twilight before sunrise. It is recognized by the presence of weak sunlight, while the sun itself is still below the horizon. Dawn should not be confused with sunrise, which is the moment when the leading edge of the sun itself appears above the horizon.

Hmm…what do you think? the light in the pix above is maybe too bright to be called ‘ the twilight before sunrise ‘,  got to digging more on this and found The Blue Hour , also in Wiki :

The blue hour comes from a French expression, l’heure bleue, which refers to the period of twilight each morning and evening where there is neither full daylight nor complete darkness. The time is considered special because of the quality of the light at this time of day. The blue hour is considered especially flattering for people with blond hair  in  photography and is often also when the smell of the flowers is at its strongest during the summertime.

Oh this convinces me more of my mistake in this post title, my pix is not blue at all :(

So the blue hour is flattering to people with blond hair in photography…well, if you have blond hair…you know the exact time when your hair will look it’s best if photographed. But my search about dawn takes me to another subject, photography !  Yes photography is why I created this blog…I like to look at my photos staring back at me from the computer screen . I found out about The Golden Hour , so here’s more on dawn from the photography point of view by Wiki :

In photography, the golden hour [sometimes known as magic hour, especially in cinematography]  is the first and last hour of sunlight during the day,when a specific photographic effect is achieved with the quality of the light.

Typically, lighting is softer [more diffuse]  and warmer in hue, and shadows are longer. When the Sun is near the horizon, sunlight travels through more of the atmosphere, reducing its intensity, so that more of the illumination comes from the sky. More blue light is scattered, so that light from the Sun appears more reddish. And the Sun’s small angle with the horizon produces longer shadows.

Oh, the second paragraph about the golden hour…seems familiar to me…oh, right ! I already talked about it in my  post about sunsets.

Summing up what I’ve learned to day :

– my pix is probably not of dawn, but of sunrise

– it’s not at the blue hour

– it’s probably at the golden hour

– and I missed the alpenglow [what’s that? stay tuned and find out ! or you could just go and google it yourselves ^^]

Ta Ta For Now….so said the piglet..

4 comments on “It’s Dawn…or Not…”

  1. Too long don’t you think? And the page is not wide enough too.

    • Hi Bimo !….so you found the link .
      Well, It’s up to me how long I want to write :P
      But maybe it’s because the page is too narrow like you said. I don’t want to do anything about this because I’m lazy :)
      Anyway, the width of the page depends on the theme of the blog that I choose from wordpress..and the length of my post depends on how much I want to “talk” LOL I’m still learning to blog on wordpress, I’m more used to blogger. Hoping to see some positive developments in your blog !

      Thanks for dropping by….

    • Yes, I know a lot of sites for templates….but I’d like to continue being lazy and blame everything on the layout of theme LOL


Leave a Reply

