My Bokeh

By: myoce

Jan 10 2010

Tags:

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.2
Focal Length:18.6mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/105 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE M853 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

Bogor, 10012010

Hi how are you doing ?  I’m back with this pix of mine that   I regretted taking was too  blurry cos I took the shot at almost direct sunlight and I had to darken it in picasa to make it presentable .

B u u t…now I’m glad I took it because I got to know about “Boke” or “Bokeh” effect.

The term ‘Bokeh’ is from the Japanese language, meaning ‘Haze’ or  ‘Blur’ .  First I thought the effect I’ll be writing about here was called ‘ Sun Flare’….I was mistaken, that’s something else… maybe I could show you sun flare effect later,  I got a pix somewhere, the effect that appeared in my photo above is called Bokeh effect.

What in the world is a bokeh ?? You may well ask…. well, look at the pix above…no…not the flower,  beyond it ,  the background on the right…the green part….do you see  small dots/circles scattered over the  green?…white.. and sometimes with blue center ??   Those are bokeh.

According to Wikipedia :

In Photography  bokeh is the blur, or the aesthetic quality of the blur, in out-of-focus areas of an image, or “the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light. “ Differences in lens aberration and aperture shape cause some lens designs to blur the image in a way that is pleasing to the eye, while others produce blurring that is unpleasant or distracting— “good” or “bad” bokeh, respectively.

Note :

Lens aberrations = small optical flaws in [camera] lenses.

Aperture = small opening/hole through which  light travels [sort of the pupil of your eyes, in this case the aperture of the camera].

A  lens produces a circle of confusion – the light circles, dots.. or bokeh – which is simply a uniformly illuminated shape corresponding to that of the lens aperture..  yikees.. ‘ a circle of confusion ‘  really describes my life . Hmm,  the aperture of our camera I think is important in case we want to apply some lovely bokeh effects to our photographs… like if you want to have star or heart shaped bokeh….O dear,  I have to learn some more to tell you about that.

Anyway, I hope my bokeh  is a ‘good’ bokeh that pleases your eyes ^^….cu later !

Info sources : Wikipedia, luminous-landscape.com

Leave a Reply

